sexisminschool

Tales of School Sexism from a 10 year old

Cultural Femincide?! What’s that?

11 Comments

Hello again, today the start of my blog isn’t going to be about sexism in my school but about how I felt when @schoolsexism came off the ground and this blog was given amazing reviews.

Last night I was awoken by mum, who was very excited! I came downstairs and I was given my mums phone and I was in the Huffington Post! I was overwhelmed; I thought that it would only be tweeted out by a few people, not by @caitlinmoran or be in the Huffington Post! I didn’t think it was real!

I am going on to my story now, I hope you feel the same way!

Later on in the year I am going up to secondary school and I went on a visit and I was given a list of books that are recommended to read before I start. I went home and I realised that the proportion  of women on the list was 2 out of ten. It was horrid to see because women are good authors and 51% of the world.  I was disappointed that my school suggested 8 men authors but only 2 women.

Has everyone heard of J.K Rowling? She wrote the Harry Potter series. Her real name is Joanne Rowling, she used her initials because the book wouldnt have sold if they knew she was a woman. Also her main character was a boy but the girl called Hermione was more clever. The boys in the book relied on her for everything and she sorted them out.

I asked my mum about this and she said it was called cultural femicide, I had no idea what it meant! The term was invented by a feminist called Bidisha and you can read more about it here.

Women need to be more visible as main characters in books, as authors and being able to use their real name and knowing that they wouldn’t be discriminated.

Why can’t we all be treated as equals?
How do we sort this out?

[Added by Mum – I am going to contact the school, and will be making suggestions for them, if they are unable to come up with a list that has at least 50% women authors on it!]

11 thoughts on “Cultural Femincide?! What’s that?

  1. Hi,
    When I came across your blog, I felt immensely proud to hear somebody of your age standing up for your beliefs and empowering women – I applaud you for your efforts!
    It saddens me that sexism is still rife in this modern day and age because it should have been abolished decades ago; why should we continue to be victims of inequality? I hope that your school listens to your opinions and sets things right – if I was at a school similar to your yours (I’m fifteen, by the way), I wouldn’t stand for sexism at all!
    Good luck with your blog!

    http://www.lifeasamodernteen.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Your blog is brilliant! I would never have noticed things like this when I was 10 years old! You must be very smart and you must have an amazing mum. I’m so glad that there are people like you who will be excellent role models for any future daughters (or sons) I might have. Keep it up! I will definitely keep reading.

    From a humbled 25 year old girl 🙂

  3. There are so many great male and female authors, it would be only fair for the school to make up a list that is comprised of 50% male authors and 50% female authors. I only recently started reading J.K. Rowling (Casual Vacancy). One of my all time favorite female authors is Joanne Harris (@Joannechocolat on Twitter).

    Congratulations on the Huffington Post article! I read it and was like, wow! Very impressive : )

  4. Speaking of great female authors, I bet you’d love Virginia Woolf.

  5. I love your blog! It’s great to see people of all ages getting involved in feminist activism. You’re making the world a better place for girls and women everywhere.

  6. Amazing Blog!! Love it x

  7. You are a brilliant girl! It’s wonderful that you are so aware of important issues, especially as you are rather young. I hope Harper Lee is on your reading list? If not, I would recommend To Kill a Mockingbird (only if your mum is ok with you reading it!) Keep fighting for what’s right!

  8. It is brilliant to see someone so young not only seeing a problem but also taking a stand against it. Your blog is encouraging me to do more and I’m sure many others would say the same. Well done and keep it up! The world needs a lot more people like you!

  9. Bidisha’s original article on cultural femicide is here… and it makes for shocking reading.

    http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2010/apr/22/bidisha

Leave a Reply

